Former Agents of the FBI Foundation - Awards

The Heart of the Society


William H. Webster Award

The William H. Webster Award recognizes and honors an active-duty FBI Special Agent for exemplary public or humanitarian service provided outside of his or her official employment as a Special Agent of the FBI. The award was named after former Director William H. Webster in honor of his outstanding stewardship of the FBI during very difficult times and his continued support of the Bureau and the Society since his retirement from government service.

In addition to recognizing the award recipient for extraordinary service, the Society, through the Foundation, donates $5,000 to the charity or public service chosen by the award recipient.

Louis E. Peters Memorial Service Award

Louis E. Peters was a successful automobile dealer in California. In 1977, he was approached by the Bonanno organized-crime family, who wanted to buy his dealership and use the business to launder illegal funds. Peters went to the FBI and offered to help in whatever way he could.

In large part to his selfless actions, Joseph Bonanno, Sr. was sentenced to five years in prison on an obstruction of justice charge. Then FBI Director William H. Webster presented Peters with an award that read in part, "To Lou Peters, who set new standards of patriotism, of selflessness, and of valor, with the gratitude and respect of his FBI friends.”

It is in this vein that the FBI and the Society of Former Special Agents of the FBI established the Louis E. Peters Memorial Service Award. The Award has been presented annually since 1981 to that person who best exemplifies the standards set by Peters in providing service to the FBI and the Nation. A $5,000 check is presented to the recipient of the Louis E. Peters Memorial Service Award.

Frances M. Keogh Award

The Frances M. Keogh Memorial Fund was established in 1991 to honor the late Executive Director of the Society through donations to charitable organizations. Contributions in her name are given by the Foundation to organizations that are devoted to the care of the sick, poor and homeless people of our country. The Frances M. Keogh Award is presented each year at the national convention.

The recipient of the award, chosen by the national convention host chapter, receives a $1,500 donation from this self-sustaining restricted fund. The only stipulation set by the Board of Trustees is that the recipient be a local, community-based effort like those to which Fran Keogh devoted herself.

Humanitarian Service Award

Given annually to a Society member or member’s spouse who goes above and beyond the call of civic duty. The Foundation Board of Trustees select one person annually to receive this award. The award recipient receives a plaque, a trip to the National Conference to receive the award, and $10,000 to present to the charity of his or her choice.

CLICK HERE for a copy of the Humanitarian Service Award Nomination Form.

Sign In

Forgot your password?

Not a member yet?